Woodruff Alumna Wei Chen Elected to NAE

Wei ChenWoodruff School graduate Wei Chen has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering (NAE). Chen, who graduated from Georgia Tech with a Ph.D in mechanical engineering in 1995, is the Wilson-Cook Professor in Engineering Design and Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Northwestern University's McCormick School of Engineering. She was honored for "contributions to design under uncertainty in products and systems, and leadership in the engineering design community."

Chen was one of 86 new members and 18 new foreign members announced by the NAE on February 7. She will not be the only 2019 inductee with Georgia Tech ties when the induction ceremony takes place on October 6 in Washington, D.C. Joining her will be Georgia Tech aerospace professor Krishan K. Ahuja and John H. Koon, professor of the practice Georgia Tech's School of Civil and Envionmental Engineering. 

NAE members with connections to the Woodruff School include professor Jan Shi, adjunct professor Tim Lieuwen, and professors emeritus Bob Nerem, Ward Winer and Ben Zinn.

Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. It has more than 2,000 peer-elected members and foreign associates, senior professionals in business, academia and government, who are among the world’s most accomplished engineers.