Yee Receives 2017 Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal

Dr. Shannon Yee, Assistant Professor, Heat Transfer, Combustion and Energy Systems, has been selected to receive the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) 2017 Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal Award. He will receive the honor during the ASME's International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition (IMECE) this fall. 

The Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal recognizes outstanding achievement in mechanical engineering within ten years following graducation with a baccalaureate (bachelors) degree in Mechanical Engineering or related field. The award is bestowed for overall outstanding achievement in the mechanical engineering field during the set period of time. 

Previous Woodruff School faculty who have won the Pi Tau Sigma Gold Medal include Dimos Poulikakos (1986), David McDowell (1987), Yves Berthelot (1991), Tom Kurfess (1995), Ken Gall (2004), and John Hart (2009).

Dr. Yee received his PhD in Mechanical Engineering from the University of California Berkeley (2013), his MS in Nuclear Engineering from The Ohio State University (2008), and his BS in Mechanical Engineering from The Ohio State University (2007).  He currently holds a dual appointment as a Visiting Scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Lab.  In 2015, he received an AFOSR Young Investigator award.  He was the inaugural ARPA-E Fellow in 2010 and the recipient of the prestigious Hertz Fellowship for his graduate studies in 2008. Dr. Yee’s research focuses on developing next generation energy technologies by exploring new ways of manipulating heat and creating energy conversion technologies that have the potential to impact electricity generation, heating and cooling, and energy efficiency.  He is passionate about mentoring students and integrating technology, policy, and business into their energy education.